

## The Rice Marketing Board

FOR THE STATE OF NEW SOUTH WALES

## Objects of the Board:

- 1. To encourage the development of a competitive domestic market for rice.
- 2. To ensure the best possible returns from rice sold outside Australia based on the quality differentials or attributes of Australian grown rice.
- 3. To liaise with and represent the interest of all NSW rice growers in relation to the Board's function and objects.

## **FACT SHEET 2: Board Members**

The Rice Marketing Board for the State of New South Wales was the first commodity marketing board established in New South Wales under the *Marketing of Primary Products Act 1927*, and was officially constituted by Proclamation on 9th November, 1928. It is now governed under the *Rice Marketing Act 1983*.

In July 2006 the NSW domestic rice market was deregulated. Parties wanting to participate in the domestic rice market can make application the Board to become an Authorised Buyer. Under the *Rice Marketing Act, 1983* the Board has appointed Ricegrowers Limited (trading as SunRice) as the Sole and Exclusive Export Licence holder.

The Board consists of seven members, three of whom are elected by growers, and four who are nominated by the NSW Minister for Primary Industries.

Members are usually appointed for a four year term with two member's terms ending July 2018, two in December 2019 and three in December 2021.

## The current Board members are:

- Ms Victoria L. Taylor GIA (Cert), GAICD Chair
- Mr John J. Culleton csc, BA, pcfsc, GAICD Deputy Chair
- Ms Robyn Clubb B Ec, CA, F Fin, MAICD
- Mrs Gillian L. Kirkup MAICD
- Mr Douglas F. Hocking HDA, GDE
- Mr John Bradford, MAICD
- Mr Ian Mason

The Board meets monthly and discusses all areas of management including the Crop Audit, Authorised Buyer Licence regime, review of the Sole and Exclusive Export Licence holder and the Board's financial reports.

The Secretary is the Board's only employee and is responsible to the Board for the management of Finance, Administration and Compliance. The Board's current Secretary is Mrs Carol Chiswell, CPA.

For more information please contact the Secretary on 02 6953 3200.